Burnaby RCMP officers join Alexa’s Team


2017-04-13 12:54 PDT

Under the Official Languages Act, this office provides services to the public in English only. You will find general information in both official languages at bc.rcmp.ca and www.rcmp.ca

Aux termes de la Loi sur les langues officielles, ce bureau n'offre des services au public qu'en anglais. Vous trouverez des renseignements généraux dans les deux langues officielles au cb.grc.ca et www.grc.ca.

photograph of 6 Burnaby RCMP members nominated to Alexa's Team

Yesterday, seven members of the Burnaby RCMP were recognized for their efforts in taking impaired drivers off the road and have been nominated to be part of Alexa’s team.

Alexa’s Team is a program that recognizes dedicated RCMP and Municipal police officers in B.C. who make an extraordinary contribution to reducing the number of drivers affected by alcohol or drugs on B.C.’s roads and highways. The team is named for Alexa Middelaer who was killed by an alcohol impaired driver in 2008 in Ladner.

To be nominated to the team, officers must have investigated at least a dozen impaired drivers in one year. In 2016, Burnaby police officers took approximately 421 impaired drivers off the road and made our roads safer.

Burnaby RCMP members who were recognized were: Cpl. Jason Bayer, Cst. Brad Potter, Cst. Jen Barker, Cst. Diane Marsh, Cst. Eddie Faustino, Cst. Frank Tarape, and Cst. Shahzad Khan.

Traffic safety is one Burnaby’s policing priorities and we are very proud of the work that the Burnaby officers have done to contribute to road safety in our community, says Chief Superintendent Stephan Drolet.

This year over 2000 RCMP and Municipal officers from around B.C. were named to Alexa’s Team.

For more information on alcohol and drug related prohibitions and suspensions go here.

Diffusé par

Cap. Daniela Panesar

Agente des relations avec les médias
GRC de Burnaby
burnaby.rcmp.ca (anglais seulement)
6355 avenue Deer Lake, Burnaby, (C.-B.)
Téléphone : 604-646-9900
Télécopieur : 604-646-9704


Suivez-nous :
Date de modification :